Team United States Wins Overwatch World Cup 2019

Category: Overwatch, Date: 03/Nov/2019

Follow us on our social media to stay updated!

Overwatch USA World Champions min
Credit: Carlton Beener/Blizzard

The United States Overwatch team dominates this year’s World competition and are crowned the World Champions for the first time in their history.

Team United Stated managed to perform splendidly against the best players in the world and even defeated South Korea the three-time World Cup champions. Team United States went along to dominate the game against China in a 3-0 score and claiming the world championship trophy.

The American team holds three members of the San Francisco Shock (Moth, Sinatraa, and Super) that managed to win this year’s Overwatch League after defeating the Vancouver Titans in a 4-0 score.

  • DPS: Corey Nigra (Washington Justice) 
  • DPS: Jay “Sinatraa” Won (San Francisco Shock) 
  • DPS: Kyle “KSF” Frandanisa (Los Angeles Valiant) 
  • Main tank: Matthew “Super” DeLisi (San Francisco Shock) 
  • Off-tank: Indy “SPACE” Halpern (Los Angeles Gladiators) 
  • Main support: Grant “Moth” Espe (San Francisco Shock)  
  • Flex support: Shane “Rawkus” Flaherty (Houston Outlaws) 

The American team went undefeated at the group stage only losing one map in the entire event. 

After defeating China and crowned the World Champions, all team members received gold medals for their win.

Jay “Sinatraa” Won, a member of the San Francisco Shock and the DPS player for the United States team was awarded the T-Mobile MVP award, which was voted by the audience. Sinatraa has previously received the Overwatch League MVP award as well.

“I definitely have to give it up to my team. Without them I would literally be nothing. I think Corey should have got MVP personally. Big shoutout to Corey who popped off, but yeah, I’m just happy,” Sinatraa said.